Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHS Library | Extended Investigation (VCE)

Synonyms

A word or phrase that means exactly or nearly the same as another word or phrase in the same language, for example shut is a synonym of close.

BEFORE YOU START - MAKE A LIST OF SYNONYMS FOR THE KEYWORDS YOU NEED TO SEARCH

Hint - maintain a list of keywords that are not appropriate to search - keeping you from getting distracted 

 THERE ARE database LINKS on this LibGuide Search e-Resources

AND FOR SUPPORT FIND US 

Where to start - reading an overview

Using Wikipedia

YES YOU CAN USE IT AS AN INTRODUCTION TO A TOPIC.

You may only reference it as a source if the page has achieved a Quality Scale Rating of GA of above.

You find a Wikipedia's Page Quality Scale Rating under the "Talk" Tab.

 

 

Using a visual search engine - Carrot2

Carrot2 organises your search results into topics. With an instant overview of what's available, you will quickly find what you're looking for.

Use advanced Carrot2 search feature to refine your results;

for government only results place [site:.gov] after your keyword(s) search

for organisation only results place [site:.org] after your keyword(s) search

for education only results place [site:.edu] after your keyword(s) search

for country only results place [site:.au] after your keyword(s) search for Australian only results etc

Using Google Advanced and Google Scholar

See the source image

Google can be very helpful but it is much more useful if you know how to use it effectively. Remember; information found on Google or Google Scholar has not always been curated for a database - when information is curated for a database it is fact checked by professionals and the information is considered reliable.

YOU NEED TO FACT CHECK INFORMATION FOUND ON GOOGLE OR GOOGLE SCHOLAR BEFORE YOU USE IT. A simple fact check sheet can be found here.

Some basic search tips:

  • Use quotation marks when searching for a phrase e.g. "climate change"
  • Use the I'm feeling lucky button to find the most popular website on a topic

Search website titles:

  • e.g. allintitle:climate change

Search specific sites or domains:

  •  eg: site:edu            (searches .edu sites only)
  • eg: site:.gov         (searches only government sites)

Search for specific document types:

  • eg: filetype:pdf          filetype:ppt               filetype:xls

Find a definition:

  • eg: define: nanotechnology

Advanced search option:

  • You can combine many of the above commands and add date restrictions, if you start your search in the Advanced Search screen

You can apply the basic search tips (listed above) in Google Scholar.

Make sure the language option is English, don't allow Google to translate, otherwise the articles in other languages will make be part of your results but you will not be able to read them.

If an article you find is behind a paywall - DO NOT PAY. Try searching for the article in SLV.

If the article found is from Research Gate - contact Ms Morscheck, she has a Research Gate user account.

Video: Why Google when you can Google Scholar? 

Databases

 It's good to begin your research for the question by reading a range of resources including print such as books, newspaper articles or journal articles.... by using MHS databases EBSCO

When using EBSCO, remember to select 'Advanced search' 'full text' and 'peer review' for the best search.

We have a huge array of  current specialist journals in the front area of our library, covering Science, Psychology, Geography, Health and Sport.

 Click here to access the replica of The Age Newspaper, including search options dating from 2006. 

The MHS library has The Herald Sun and The Australian delivered daily and available for reading to all our community.

The Conversation is a good site to review.

State Library of Victoria (SLV)

GOT YOUR MEMBERSHIP READY (if not go to the EI homepage and find out how to signup)

The SLV has a page dedicated to helping VCE students use their databases for research

A list of useful SLV resources and the SLV tutorial to use them

SLV Proquest click on the image

SLV Newspaper search click on the image

SLV Science search click on the image

NEXT STEPS

Ms Morscheck

I can help you locate relevant literature, don't say you can't find anything until we look together.

Ms Morscheck also has access to numerous other databases but also recommends OPEN SOURCE web-based databases such as

 

Click on the image below for a full list of