Skip to main content

Extended Investigation (VCE): Home

Collection of variety of resources to assist with research scope..

 

Welcome to your E.I Lib Guide.

It is our aim to fill this page with a variety of helpful databases and suggestions to assist your studies. This includes how to create a robust question, understanding the importance of correct citation, what Plagarism means, how to prepare for your Oral Exam, building skills to streamline a productive writing style and much more. 

Enjoy your journey. 

Here at our MHS library the Teacher Librarians are trained in expert research skills. Anytime you need help with research resources please come in and ask for our guidance. We will always have a friendly smile for you and put aside time to assist in your studies.

On our Canvas Page we have a wide variety of resources.

Finding your Question: The thrill of curiousity....The WHY question!!

To start your journey in finding a pertinent, robust question, our resources should help. Remember to choose a topic you're interested in.  One in which you can see has a gap in existing knowledge. Your question needs to have depth and meaning whilst aiming to fill this gap with your research discoveries. It's good to begin your research for the question by reading a range of resources including newspaper articles or an articles in a journal. Then refining your topic by using our Databases such as EBSCO and Gale. Ebsco is streamlined by using search terms. Advanced option is better.

Remember to select 'Advanced search' 'full text' and 'peer review' for the best search.

We have a huge array of  current specialist journals in the front area of our library, covering Science, Psychology, Geography, Health and Sport.

At MHS we provide wide range access to a number of comprehensive News Outlets from print media through to Online Television networks such as ABC and  SBS.

 Click here to access the replica of The Age Newspaper, including search options dating from 2006. 

The MHS library also has The Herald Sun and The Australian delivered daily and available for reading to all our community. Some further newspapers are available on our Database ECHO.   (Links to an external site.)

On ECHO home page click on the Subscriber panel.

Explore ECHO links to a number of News Sources online which includes The Jakarta Post (Indonesia). Some papers require further subscriptions but some are also free on this site. In looking for a research question topic The Conversation is a good site to review. (Links to an external site. It offers news dated from today and as far back as 1994. 

ECHO also provides:

Special VCE file: (Links to an external site.)Covering issues from Sept 2019 - June 2020. 

Contemporary issue analyses:  (Links to an external site.)Covering issues from 2019 - present day.

The State Library of Victoria is an extremely comprehensive curator with a large amount and scope of digital resources offered.  With an enormous budget they are able to have larger versions of EBSCO and GALE than schools, and hundreds of other databases to assist you. Just click on the 'Search and Discover' option to reach the databases.  Join up ASAP. You can do this online by clicking here.

One of the most comprehensive Databases in SLV is ProQuest. You will find it very useful. 

The National Library of Australia, TROVE, is also excellent. Join up, it's free and only takes a minute. Find and get Australian and online resources: books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more. Get a library card now. 

Your Research Question.

Devising a research question that requires a detailed inquiry and that is of significance. How and Why?

Two important strategies: 

1. PICO strategy: Population, Intervention, Control and Outcomes. 

Assessing the research question using:

2. FINER strategy: Feasible, Interesting, Novel, Ethical and Relevant.

 

ACADEMIC WRITING 

A unique style of writing. A unique skill. Click on the link below.

The ways we write are influenced by our purpose. We write differently when communicating with our friends, reporting on events, telling stories. At university, the type of writing that you will be expected to produce in your assessment tasks is classified as ‘academic writing’. The purpose of academic writing is to analyse or produce knowledge. 

Why Citation is important:

1. Giving credit - be a responsible scholar by giving credit to others and acknowledging their ideas.

2. To show your reader or examiner, you have completed  proper research by listing sources you used to get your information. 

3. To allow your reader to track down the sources you used, by citing them accurately in your paper. It can help others.

 

Following the Rules for Citation are crucial. As stated by Melbourne University: 

 'The University of Melbourne expects the highest ethical standards from its students and staff in all areas of their academic work and professional behaviour. The work of each individual reflects on the academic and professional standing of the University as an institution that upholds ethical practice in research, learning, and teaching. Academic work submitted for assessment or publication must be the original work of the author or authors. If the ideas or words of others have been drawn upon, this must be thoroughly and clearly acknowledged using agreed scholarly conventions'  Professor Richard James, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Provost

(Academic and Undergraduate)

 

Click on the photo above, scroll down and watch the video.

In-Text Citation APA style

Watch this video.

Remember not to use '&' in your sentences, only in 'in-text' citation, if relevant. Always use the full word 'and' in your sentences.

Also, important to remember that 'et al' is used for in-text citation only once in your essay, for the particular resource. If the resource is mentioned more than once then use: (for example) 'Meltzer and colleagues'

Online APA Citation Quiz:

Click on this link and scroll down to the bottom of the page. Complete the In-Text Citation Practice Quiz.

 

  • If it is common knowledge or your own thoughts - you do not need to reference.

How do I know if something is common knowledge?

"Generally speaking, you can regard something as common knowledge if you find the same information undocumented in at least five credible sources. Additionally, it might be common knowledge if you think the information you're presenting is something your readers will already know, or something that a person could easily find in general reference sources. But when in doubt, cite; if the citation turns out to be unnecessary, your teacher or editor will tell you." (source: Purdue OWL)

Subject guide created by Fran Penfold.
Contact me.