Further reading
Project Gutenberg – full-text works by Elizabeth Gaskell, all free to read.
The British Library – a page about Elizabeth Gaskell with links to related articles, works and people.
Victorian Web – not the most modern of websites, but an absolute treasure trove of articles.
Elizabeth Gaskell in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
The Rylands Gaskell Collection can be browsed in the John Rylands Library (University of Manchester)’s LUNA database. It contains nearly 150 digitised copies of letters, photographs, manuscripts and more – all relating to Elizabeth Gaskell and her Plymouth Grove home.
Manchester Digital Collections – the Elizabeth Gaskell and Charles Dickens Collection
A collection of letters and manuscripts, digitised by the John Rylands Library at the University of Manchester. The collection includes manuscripts of Wives and Daughters, The Life of Charlotte Brontë, ‘The Grey Woman’ and ‘The Crooked Branch’. There are also letters from Charles Dickens to Elizabeth Gaskell and an illuminated manuscript of A Christmas Carol.
The University of Manchester Library and Elizabeth Gaskell’s House
by Fran Baker, archivist at the University of Manchester Library and Helen Rees Leahy, Professor of Museology at the University of Manchester.
This online presentation shows resources in the Gaskell Collection. It also includes pages from the auction catalogue when the house’s contents were sold off in 1914 after Meta’s death, as well as interior photographs of the house and portraits of the Harper family who lived there after the Gaskells.
Manchester Central Library holds Elizabeth Gaskell items in its Special Collections. You can search the online catalogue for a list of items, but these have not yet been digitised for remote viewing.
