Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHS Library | The Handmaid's Tale

Academic essays on 'The Handmaid's Tale'

These links have been copied from the database Bloom’s Literary Reference Online which you can access and search from the homepage for English in our libguides. The longer and more comprehensive essays are towards the end of the list.

The Handmaid’s Tale.  Source: Encyclopedia of the British Novel, 2-Volume Set, Second Edition
The Handmaid’s Tale.   Sova, Dawn B. “The Handmaid’s Tale.” Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds, Third Edition , Facts On File, 2011. Bloom’s Literature
The Handmaid’s Tale. Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. “The Handmaid’s Tale.” Encyclopedia of Gothic Literature, Second Edition, Facts On File, 2014. Bloom’s Literature
The Handmaid’s Tale. 
Burt, Daniel S. “The Handmaid’s Tale.” The Novel 100, Revised Edition, Facts On File, 2010. Bloom’s Literature
The Handmaid’s Tale. 
Snodgrass, Mary Ellen. “The Handmaid’s Tale.” Encyclopedia of Feminist Literature, Second Edition
The Handmaid’s Tale
Bloom, Harold. “The Handmaid’s Tale.” The Handmaid’s Tale, Chelsea House, 2003. Bloom’s Literature
Background to The Handmaid’s Tale Bloom, Harold. “Background to The Handmaid’s Tale.” The Handmaid’s Tale, Chelsea House, 2003. Bloom’s Literature
Censorship history of The Handmaid’s Tale. Sova, Dawn B. “Censorship History of The Handmaid’s Tale.” Literature Suppressed on Sexual Grounds, Third Edition , Facts On File, 2011. Bloom’s Literature
Gender in The Handmaid’s Tale. Croisy, Sophie. “Gender in The Handmaid’s Tale.” Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature
Heroism in The Handmaid’s Tale. Croisy, Sophie. “Heroism in The Handmaid’s Tale.” Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature
Oppression in The Handmaid’s Tale. Croisy, Sophie. “Oppression in The Handmaid’s Tale.” Encyclopedia of Themes in Literature

Serena Joy.  Bloom, Harold. “Serena Joy.” The Handmaid’s Tale, Chelsea House, 2003. Bloom’s Literature
Utopian fiction. Brackett, Virginia. “Utopian Fiction.” Encyclopedia of the British Novel, 2-Volume Set, Second Edition
Bloom on The Handmaid’s Tale. Bloom, Harold. “Bloom on The Handmaid’s Tale.” The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2001. Bloom’s Literature.
The Handmaid’s Tale: 
Dystopia and the Paradoxes of Power. Deer, Glenn. “The Handmaid’s Tale: Dystopia and the Paradoxes of Power.” Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2000. Bloom’s Literature.
Future Tense: Making history in The Handmaid’s Tale. Davidson, Arnold E. “Future Tense: Making History in The Handmaid’s Tale.” Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2000. Bloom’s Literature.
Margaret Atwood’s Modest Proposal: The Handmaid’s Tale. Stein, Karen. “Margaret Atwood’s Modest Proposal: The Handmaid’s Tale.” Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2000. Bloom’s Literature.
Bradbury and Atwood: Exile as Rational Decision. Wood, Diane S. “Bradbury and Atwood: Exile as Rational Decision.” Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury, New Edition, Chelsea House, 2008. Bloom’s Literature.
Alias Atwood: Narrative Games and Gender Politics. Rigney, Barbara Hill. “Alias Atwood: Narrative Games and Gender Politics.” Margaret Atwood, New Edition, Chelsea House, 2008. Bloom’s Literature.
On the Border: Margaret Atwood’s Novels. Palumbo, Alice M. “On the Border: Margaret Atwood’s Novels.” Margaret Atwood, New Edition, Chelsea House, 2008. Bloom’s Literature.
Margaret Atwood and the Politics of Narrative. Kolodny, Annette. “Margaret Atwood and the Politics of Narrative.” Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2000. Bloom’s Literature.
Atwood on Women, War and History: “The Loneliness of the Military Historian”. Brownley, Martine Watson. “Atwood on Women, War, and History: “The Loneliness of the Military Historian”” Margaret Atwood, New Edition, Chelsea House, 2008. Bloom’s Literature.
Science for Feminists: Margaret Atwood’s Body of Knowledge. Deery, June. “Science for Feminists: Margaret Atwood’s Body of Knowledge.” Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2000. Bloom’s Literature.
You Are What You Eat: The Politics of Eating in the Novels of Margaret Atwood. Parker, Emma. “You Are What You Eat: The Politics of Eating in the Novels of Margaret Atwood.” Margaret Atwood, Chelsea House, 2000. Bloom’s Literature.

Online resources

Visit the Melbourne High School Library eResources 
to access all the databases and for login details.