General lit resources
Answers to quick questions; definitions; background & contextual information. Most references available on overnight loan
Dictionary of literary terms and literary theory
Clarify the terms, with definitions, historical development with examples.
Oxford Dictionary of Quotations Gives source and citation details.
Literary movements for students
Vol 1 Includes Greek drama, offers an extensive overview, identifies representative authors & works. Covers themes, styles, historical context.
Vol 2 Includes Absurdism of the fifties.
Oxford companion to American literature biographical & bibliographical information.
Background to English Literature series: Renaissance; Romantics; Victorian; Modernist; Post-war literature. Places works in various contexts.
Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare. Covers all Shakespeare’s plays and poetry. Alphabetical list of all the words occurring in Shakespeare’s works giving citations, e.g. play, act, scene, line number.
Facts on File Companion to Classical Drama Includes a commentary on why the Oresteia plays are important.
History in literature. Background to historical events, e.g. My Lai Massacre in Vietnamese war; Colonialism in Belgian Congo.
Oxford English Dictionary Definitive 12 volume work for English definitions.
MHS English index - key to articles on authors & literary works in MHS Library’s collection of literary journals. Also indexes articles in literary series written specifically for senior students.
Access via MHS Online Databases page for login and password.
State Library of Victoria. Access to Gale literary databases and others.
Free membership via phone or online.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive 1902-2006.
Literature Resource Center – full-text criticism & reviews
Literature Criticism online - extensive collection of literary commentary
Colombia Granger’s World of Poetry.
Most Victorian public libraries provide member access to a large range of electronic
Browsing the Non-Fiction Collection
Literature section classified in the 800s arranged by:
800 – 809 Generalities e.g. Book of quotations, literary
810-890 1. Language: 810 American, 820 English, 840 French,
880 Greek, etc.
2. Form: in the order of poetry, drama, fiction, essays, etc.
3. Chronologically arranged by historical period.
4. Alphabetical by author then title.
810 American Literature generalities
811 American poetry
813 American fiction
.53 F. Scott Fitzgerald
.54 Tim O’Brien
820 English literature
821 English poetry
822 English drama
.33 Shakespeare – generalities e.g. Shakespeare survey
.33 B Shakespeare biography - good for background & settings
.33 D -E critical works
.33 S7 Hamlet
.33 S8 works about Hamlet
822.914 works by and about Samuel Beckett
823 English prose
.912 Heart of darkness
880 Classical & modern Greek literature
882 Classical Greek poetry & drama
.01 Aeschylus & Greek drama
883 Classical Greek epic poetry & fiction
Other areas of interest:
320.0938 Greek political science
938 Greek history
Note: Australian literature is prefixed with A in front of class number,
and shelved at the beginning of the 800s.