Skip to main content

English Language: Linguistics Links

To support VCE English Language

English Language Online Resources

How to teach yourself linguistics online

How to teach yourself linguistics online - resource from "All Things Linguistic"
Specific episodes:

The International Phonetic Alphabet
Constituency

Gricean Maxims

Kids These Days aren’t ruining language

Learning languages linguistically

Phonemes

Podcasts in general:

Lingthusiasm

The History of English Podcast

Talk the Talk

Lexicon Valley

The World in Words

A Way With Words

Linguistics Videos

Modular topics:

NativLang (cartoons) 

The Ling Space

Tom Scott’s Language Files

Arika Okrent (whiteboard videos)

Structured video series like an online course:  

Introduction to Linguistics (TrevTutor)

Another intro linguistics series (DS Bigham)

Phonology (TrevTutor) 

Mathematical linguistics (TrevTutor)

Syntax (TrevTutor)

Another syntax series following the chapter structure of a free online syntax textbook (Caroline Heycock) 

The Virtual Linguistics Campus at Marburg University

“Miracles of Human Language” (on Coursera from Leiden University

Blog posts
General

How much do I need to know before taking intro linguistics? (Spoiler: not much) 

28 tips for doing better in your intro linguistics course

How to find a topic for your linguistics essay or research paper

For typesetting linguistics symbols: What is LaTeX and why do linguists love it?(with sample LaTeX doc to download and modify).

Further linguistics resources about specific areas, such as sociolinguisticspsycholinguisticslanguage acquisition (first/second), historical linguisticsneurolinguisticsprescriptivism

Phonetics & Phonology

How to make your own paper model of the larynx

Teaching phonetics using lollipops

How to remember the IPA vowel chart

How to remember the IPA consonant chart

IPA transcription practice

A detailed explanation of sonorants, obstruents, and sonority

A very elaborate Venn diagram of English phonological features

The basics of how Optimality Theory works, with coffee analogy

Allophones of /t/, explained with internet gifs

Several good visualizations and explanations of the vocal tract

How to type IPA on your phone (Android and iOS) 

Various ways to type IPA on a computer

Morphology & Syntax

Morphological typology cartoons

So you asked the internet how to draw syntax trees. Here’s why you’re confused.

Types of trees: a sentence is an Sa sentence is an IPa sentence is a TP

A step-by-step guide to drawing a syntax tree, with gifs

Distributed Morphology

Garden path sentences: how they worksome examples

Structural ambiguity and understanding people in Ipswich

How to draw trees on a computer (TreeForm and phpSyntaxTree) 

Pronoun typology and “the gay fanfiction problem”

The solution to violent example sentences: Pokemon

Semantics & Pragmatics

The difference between epistemic and deontic, necessity and possibility (with bonus modals as Hogwarts houses)

Why learn semantics? Comebacks to annoying people.

Presuppositionsimplicature and entailment, and more presuppositions in Lizzie Bennet Diaries

Gricean maxims in Welcome to Night Vale

Scalar implicature and a duck gif

Giving a shit about Negative Polarity ItemsNPIs explained using Mean Girls references, and a follow-up on Free Choice Items

The lambda calculus for absolute dummies

The Lambda Calculator (software for practising in Heim & Kratzer style)

Teaching & Academic/career advice

Linguistics resources for high school teachers

Teaching linguistics to 9-14 year olds

On writing an IB extended essay in linguistics (& follow-up)

IPA Bingo

IPA Jeopardy and IPA Hangman

Practising syntax trees using cards and string/straws

Find a linguistics olympiad near you!

Editing linguistics Wikipedia articles instead of writing a final paper that no one but the prof will read (see also wikiedu.org)

Should you go to grad school in linguistics? Maybe

Figuring out if you actually want to go to linguistics grad school

How to decide which linguistics grad school to go to

How to look for linguistics undergrad programs

How to interact with someone who’s just given a talk

An extensive list of undergrad and/or student-friendly conferences - apply to one near you!

Linguistics jobs - a series about careers outside academi

Languages
Linguistic approaches to language learning resource roundup

Will linguistics help with language learning? / Will learning a second language help with linguistics?

The problem with “economically useful” as a reason for language learning

Further link roundups

This list not enough? Try these further masterposts: 

A very long list of linguistics movies, documentaries, and TV show episodes

Books (fiction and nonfiction) about linguistics

Linguistics podcasts

Linguistics videos on YouTube

20 linguistics blogs I recommend following

How to explain linguistics to your friends and family this holiday season

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionaries online

The New Zealand Dictionary Centre

The Dictionary Unit for South African English

The Oxford English dictionary 

Urban Dictionary 

Wordnet - a lexical database for English

Australex (Australasian Association for Lexicography)

Australian English at the ANU

Google Ngram Viewer  When you enter phrases into the Google Books Ngram Viewer, it displays a graph showing how those phrases have occurred in a corpus of books (e.g., "British English", "English Fiction", "French") over a selected time frame.

The Linguists

The Linguists :

The Linguists shows people who speak threatened languages talking about what language loss means to them, and it highlights efforts by scientists to preserve languages that are in danger of dying. This curriculum unit provides resources for teaching students that language is an essential element of culture and that the loss of a language is likely to mean the loss of culture, history, traditions, values, and social identity, as well as unique grammar patterns.

 

Accents

Articles on Google Scholar

AitkenA. J. 1985. ‘Is Scots a language?’ In ET341–5.Google Scholar
BaskaranLoga1994‘The Malaysian English mosaic.’ In ET 372732.Google Scholar
CrystalDavid1995The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English LanguageCambridgeUniversity Press.Google Scholar
CrystalDavid1996. ‘The past, present and future of English rhythm.’ In M.Vaughan-ReesChanges in Pronunciation, Summer 1996 Issue of the Newsletter of the IATEFL Pronunciation Special Interest Group, 813WhitstableIATEFL.Google Scholar
CrystalDavid1997English as a Global LanguageCambridgeUniversity Press.Google Scholar
CrystalDavid1998. ‘The future of English: where unity and diversity meet.’ Keynote address to TESOL Arabia, Al Ayn, March.Google Scholar
GraddolDavid1998The Future of EnglishLondonThe British Council.Google Scholar
KnowlesElizabeth, ed. 1997The Oxford Dictionary of New WordsOxfordUniversity Press.Google Scholar
McArthurTom1998The English LanguagesCambridgeUniversity Press.Google Scholar
MooreSuzanne1998‘Real Britannia: What Does it Mean to be British?’ In The Independent (Monday Review), 20 07.Google Scholar
MortSimon. ed. 1986Longman Guardian New WordsLondonLongman.Google Scholar
RosenBarbara1994. ‘Is English Really a Family of Languages?’In the International Herald Tribune, 15 10.Google Scholar

Articles about language

Plonk: A language lover's guide to Australian drinking (The Conversation, July 2017)
Up a wombat's freckle by Barry Humphries (The Times Literary Supplement, June 2017)
"I want the word 'gay' back": Bob Katter (The Australian, August 2017) Note: There are close to 30 different senses of 'gay' in the Oxford English Dictionary. 'Gay' meaning homosexual is recorded from the 1920s (Ozwords on Twitter)
Why is sarcasm so difficult to detect in texts and emails? (The Conversation)