Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology: Biology

Searching EBSCO databases

 
Ebsco
EbscoHost - The Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre is an online index of journals and newspapers.
A great deal of content is available in full-text. It provides full-text of The Age, The Australian and the Herald-Sun.
 
ClickView
ClickView Online is a digitised video library available across the School Network and from home. It provides access to approximately 10,000 titles which can be searched by category or keyword. ClickView also enables a movie clip to be exported in a format that can be inserted easily into Powerpoint or Word.
 

VCE Biology

How to create your bibliography using APA

At Melbourne High School, we recommend the APA referencing style.
APA style is an author-date citation style.

Everything you know about how to create a bibliography is here in this guide.

OR skip to the following for:

Don't forget to collect your information while you have the book or website!

At the time of reading a source, record all of the bibliographic information (descriptive elements) necessary to create a citation. You can either use referencing software or record manually. It is vital to be accurate and clear at this stage to save time later on. 

The information you should record:

  • Author(s)/editor(s).
  • Title.
  • Edition (1st, 2nd, reprint ed. revised ed. etc.).
  • Page numbers for direct quotations (optional for secondary school)
  • Place of publication.
  • Publisher.
  • Date of publication.
  • Web address if online resources and Date Accessed.

Homework | Revision

Lessons

Khan Academy

The Khan Academy Videos on YouTube which have been recorded by Salman Khan.

MIT'S OpenCourseWare

Stanford School of Medicine
The Stanford School of Medicine Lectures on human biology, health and disease, medical research, and health care. The lectures are available through iTunes and YouTube.

General sites

green earth

Images

 Digimorph
"The Digital Morphology library is a dynamic archive of information on digital morphology and high-resolution X-ray computed tomography of biological specimens. Browse through the site and see spectacular imagery and animations and details on the morphology of many representatives of the Earth's biota.
The Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life is a database that aims to have an electronic image of each species of organism to be found on the planet. Best results are obtained when searched by scientific name.


Microscope Imaging Station
Microscope imaging station From Exploratorium

Interactives and Animations

Interactive Simulations

Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.

Explore Biology 

The Open Door

The Open Door