MAP TEXT: "IMPERIAL FEDERATION,—map of the world showing the extent of the BRITISH EMPIRE in 1886. / Statistical Information furnished by aptain J. C. R. Colomb, M.P. formerly R.M.A. ____ British Territories coloured red."
MAP CREDIT: Macclure and Co., Queen Victoria Street, London, 1886. Collected in the Norman B. Leventhal Map Center at the Boston Public Library. (link)
Search the State Library of Victoria databases
You can easily join the State Library of Victoria for free to have full access to all their databases online even at home.
Once you've logged in, you can search all databases (A-Z databases link is just under the Search bar) by selecting the databases option, or follow other options:
- Use the catalogue search (preferably "advanced") and filter results as applicable (eg for current issues you can select to retrieve 'articles' and filter within a date range.
- Select the 'Search and Discover' tab at the top to do a similar search
- Under 'research guides' you can select 'literature' (on the left) and then 'VCE guides' or "English and Literature Guide for VCE" which will list all the literature-related databases on the right
- The highest recommended literary databases are Gale Literary Sources, Austlit, and Informit Literature and Culture.
You can filter your results by 'resource type':
- Newspaper articles (40,191)
- Articles (15,014)
- Government documents (6,756)
- Text resources (3,555)
Heart of Darkness (1899) is a novella by Polish-English novelist Joseph Conrad, about a voyage up the Congo River into the Congo Free State, in the heart of Africa, by the story's narrator Charles Marlow. Marlow tells his story to friends aboard a boat anchored on the River Thames. This setting provides the framefor Marlow's story of his obsession with the ivory trader Kurtz, which enables Conrad to create a parallel between "the greatest town on earth" and Africa as places of darkness.
Central to Conrad's work is the idea that there is little difference between so-called civilised people and those described as savages; Heart of Darkness raises questions about imperialism and racism. (Source: Wikipedia)
The fine art of ambiguous writing: The author Reif Larsen says Joseph Conrad and Anselm Kiefer taught him how to practice omission without infuriating his readers.
The man behind the pen: Does his writing define him?
"Journey into the Past: the Sociocultural Interpretation of Heart of Darkness" by Lydia B. (Spring 2014)
"Conrad’s Maps and the Scramble for Africa: The Heart of Darkness" by John G. (Spring 2014)
"Conrad’s Imperialism in Heart of Darkness" by Dylan S. (Spring 2014)
“'A Fury of Generous Indignation': Critical Perspectives on King Leopold II’s Rule in the Congo Free State" by Ryan W. (Spring 2014)
Contested Images: Race and Gender in the 19th Century and Beyond
- "19th Century Science and its Effects on Racism" by Mahmoud H. (Fall 2013)
- "The Story Behind Achebe's Claims" by Akhil A. (Spring 2014)
- "Exploring Anti-Imperialist and Racist Qualities in Heart of Darkness" by Bryant Y. (Spring 2014)
- "Sexism in Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness" by Emanuela F.
- "The Empowerment of Women in Heart of Darkness" by Connor Y. (Spring 2014)
"A Readable Report": Conrad's Use (and Abuse?) of Genre and Style
- "Bringing Heart of Darkness to Light: The Satirical Roots of Conrad's Impressionism" by Davis S. (Spring 2014)
- "The Nature of London and the Congo: Joseph Conrad's Use and Exploitation of Romanticism in Heart of Darkness" by Gabriella S. (Spring 2014)
Aftereffects: Conrad and The Twentieth Century
- "The Changing of the Guard: Edward Said and Reassessing Heart of Darkness in a Post-colonial Age" by Crystal L. (Fall 2013)
- "Kurtz's Legacy" by Cheng-Hao W. (Spring 2014)
- "Mysticism, Foreign Invasion, and Heroes: The Parallels Between Conrad’s Heart of Darkness and Coppola’s Apocalypse Now" by Olivia H. (Spring 2014)
- "Foreshadowing the Darkness: How Conrad and Apocalypse Now Shaped Our Perception of War" by Adrian L. (Fall 2013)
(Source: Ryan Weberling's "A research guide")
Interactive map and timeline