VCE FRENCH 1&2 Unit 2 Outcome 3
On completion of this unit the student should be able to explain information, ideas and concepts orally in French to a specific audience about an aspect of culture within communities where French is spoken.
Essay on the Characteristics of Culture. (2012, May 31). World’s Largest Collection of Essays! Published by Experts. https://www.shareyouressays.com/essays/essay-on-the-characteristics-of-culture/87242
A LIST OF COUNTRIES WHERE FRENCH IS SPOKEN
- France - The primary and official language of France, spoken by the majority of the population.
- Democratic Republic of the Congo - French is one of the official languages, commonly used in government and education.
- Canada - French is one of the two official languages, predominantly spoken in the province of Quebec and parts of New Brunswick.
- Madagascar - French is spoken by a significant portion of the population, particularly in urban areas and in government and business contexts.
- Cameroon - French is one of the official languages, widely used in government and education, especially in the central and southern regions.
- Ivory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire) - French is the official language and is widely used in business, government, and education.
- Burkina Faso - French is the official language and serves as the principal language for administration and education.
- Niger - French is the official language, used in government and education, especially in urban centers.
- Mali - French is the official language and is used in government, media, and education.
- Senegal - French is the official language, commonly used in government, education, and media.
French media sources
The Conversation: La mission de The Conversation France est de diffuser l’expertise des chercheuses et chercheurs pour éclairer le débat public.
RFI (Radio France Internationale): This website offers news, articles, and podcasts in French, covering a wide range of topics, including French culture and society. You have the option of selecting English or French languages.
TV5MONDE: TV5MONDE is an international French-language television network that provides access to various cultural programs, documentaries, and news in French.
France 24: A French international news channel that covers global news in French, providing insights into French perspectives on world events.
Le Figaro: A popular French newspaper with sections on culture, lifestyle, and society.
Le Monde: Another well-known French newspaper that covers diverse topics, including French culture, arts, and traditions.
France Culture: A radio station and website dedicated to French culture, literature, arts, and philosophical discussions.
Paris Match: A French weekly magazine that focuses on current events, society, and culture, featuring articles and photos.
L'Obs (formerly Le Nouvel Observateur): A French news magazine that covers politics, culture, and society.
Beaux Arts Magazine: A magazine dedicated to the arts, including visual arts, architecture, and design.
Télérama: A French magazine that covers various cultural topics, including cinema, music, and literature.
Le Petit Journal: This online newspaper provides news, culture, and lifestyle articles in French.
France Inter: A French public radio station with cultural programs, interviews, and discussions.
French Cultural Centers/Instituts Français: Many French cultural centers and institutes worldwide have websites with events, exhibitions, and cultural information.
ARTE: An international television network that offers programs on art, culture, and documentaries in French and German.
Canal+ (Canal Plus): A French premium cable television channel that includes programs on cinema, series, and cultural shows.
Les Inrockuptibles: A French magazine focusing on music, film, and pop culture.
Académie Française: The official website of the French Academy, providing information on French literature and language.
"C'est pas sorcier" (It's Not Rocket Science): A popular French educational TV series that explores various topics, including culture, history, and science.
"Les Racines du Ciel" (The Roots of Heaven): A documentary series that delves into French cultural heritage and traditions.
"Des Racines et des Ailes" (Roots and Wings): Another documentary series focusing on French cultural and historical landmarks.
"Très très bon": A series that explores French gastronomy and culinary traditions.
"Apolline Matin": A YouTube channel with documentaries on French culture, history, and society. Saison 3.
"La Poudre": A podcast hosted by Lauren Bastide, featuring interviews with influential women in various fields, including culture, arts, and literature.
"Transfert": A podcast that tells compelling human stories related to culture and society. (On Spotify)
"Affaires Sensibles": A podcast that delves into significant historical events and cultural phenomena.
"Les Couilles sur la Table": A podcast discussing masculinity, gender, and societal norms.
"Louie Media": A network of podcasts covering diverse topics, including culture and lifestyle.
"Le Masque et la Plume": A radio show and podcast with discussions and reviews of films, books, and theater productions.
"À voix nue": A radio program and podcast with in-depth interviews of prominent personalities from the cultural world.
"Un podcast à soi": A podcast exploring feminism and gender issues in French society.
"La Grande table": A radio show and podcast discussing culture, literature, and arts.
Some of the current cultural topics in France 2023
- The rise of alcohol-free drinks in wine-loving France
- Strikes and demonstrations throughout France against the government’s pension reform project, which proposes to raise the retirement age to 64
- Commemorating the 50th anniversary of Pablo Picasso’s death
- Boeuf Bourguignon is still considered to be the most famous food to try in France in 2023
- The traditional French greeting of kissing someone on both cheeks, known as “la bise,” was discouraged during the Covid-19 pandemic to prevent the spread of the virus, but it is on the rise in popularity again
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/france/?expand_article=1
Canada - Quebec and parts of New Brunswick
Some of the current cultural topics in Canada 2023
- A hundred years of tree logging threatens the Innu peoples link to their land and way of life
- The revitalisation of Indigenous languages
- Maple syrup fraud is uncovered, as Canada's prized product is being adulterated with other syrups
- Local media ownership brings a level of accountability to the news business and offers benefits to communities by saving money
- The biggest festival of the year, Grands Feux Loto-Québec, is ready to shine in August
Ivory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire)
Some of the current cultural topics in Ivory Coast (Côte d'Ivoire) 2023
- By casting spells and creating online persona to fool their victims, the online cyber-scammers using “brouteur” that connect between the occult and online world.
- Investing in bilingual education to boost literacy rates
Côte d’Ivoire is launching its first satellite fand it’s locally made
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/ivory-coast/
Some of the current cultural topics in Niger 2023
Niger is Africa’s fastest growing country
Child marriage rates are declining globally, but the practice remains common in Niger
The annual Cure Salee festival attracts record crowds
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/niger/
Some of the current cultural topics in Senegal 2023
- Philanthropic investments are being offered to support the capacity of women in law and leadership
Traditional wrestling in Senegal - much more than a sport, it keeps culture alive
Who invented jollof rice? Senegal are crowned the African champions
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/senegal/
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Some of the current cultural topics in Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) 2023
- The DRC has one of the fastest growing populations in the world
- Pope Francis had a very challenging visit to the DRC
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/congo-republic/
Some of the current cultural topics in Madagascar 2023
- France's AI tech rides on the work of those in Madagascar, but are they being fairly paid for their work?
- The popularity of a graphic novel has empowered it's readers to pioneer a cutting-edge, agro-ecological farming strategy, called "A Million-Dollar Question"
- "Fady" are ancestral rules that can apply to a place, a person, or even certain animals and plants. There place in society is under debate.
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/madagascar/
Some of the current cultural topics in Cameroon 2023
The fascinating Cameroonian art of spider divination is on display in London
Meet Jean-Paul Zé Bella, An ex Cameroonian soldier who became a global music sensation when his band created the football World Cup hit Waka Waka.
UNESCO is supporting work on the Bafut Royal Palace, hoping to restore cultural heritage after years of civil war
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/cameroon/
Some of the current cultural topics in Burkina Faso 2023
- The Ministry of Culture and Tourism, with the support of UNESCO are expanding Burkina’s cultural industries to support the socio-economic growth of the country
- The banana plant is being used sustainably, both for the leaves and for the inner fruit in desserts
- The global rise of the health drink, Kombucha, could have surprising results for Zoomkoom. It is a traditional beverage, is one of the country's national drinks.
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/burkina-faso/?expand_article=1
Some of the current cultural topics in Mali 2023
- Souleymane Cissé is honoured as one of Africa’s boldest and most pioneering film-makers
- Mali has a diverse culture with numerous ethnic groups that make up the Malian people. Each have their own languages, history, and traditions. Oral story telling documentation is on the rise to preserve the cultural history.
- The Diamwari Festival held at the end of February on the banks of the Bani River, was the biggest cultural gathering so far in 2023
(2023). Symbolhunt.com. https://symbolhunt.com/mali/