Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to cite and reference your sources (Monash University) : Reference works

Thank you to Monash University for generously allowing us to copy their resources

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, Drug Guides

Before using this guide check with your faculty, school or department for their specific referencing guidelines.

Notes:

Follow these examples closely for all layout, punctuation, spacing and capitalizing.

Include the DOI at the end of the reference if it is available.

Dictionary entry:

Format Dictionary title, edition. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of entry; page number.
Reference Dorland's illustrated medical dictionary. 31st ed. Philadelphia: Saunders Elsevier; c2007. Encephalomalacia; p. 621.

Online dictionary entry:

Format

Dictionary title [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of entry; [cited YYYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL

Reference

Merriam-Webster medical dictionary [Internet]. Springfield (MA): Merriam-Webster Incorporated; c2005. Cloning; [cited 2006 Nov 16]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www2.merriam-webster.com/cgi-bin/mwmednlm?book=Medical&va=cloning

Reference

OED Oxford English dictionary [Internet]. Oxford: Oxford University Press; 2012 Sep. Osteomalacia [cited 2012 Nov 14]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www.oed.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/view/Entry/234078?redirectedFrom=osteomalacia

Encyclopedia article:

 

Format

Author AA, Author BB. Encyclopedia title. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; page number.

Reference Turkington C, Tzeel A. The encyclopedia of children's health and wellness. New York: Facts on File, Inc.; c2004. Papilloma virus, human (HPV); p. 381-3.

 

Electronic Encyclopedia article:

 

Format Title of encyclopedia [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; [updated YYYY Mon DD; cited YYYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL
Reference

A.D.A.M. medical encyclopedia [Internet]. Atlanta (GA): A.D.A.M., Inc.; c2005. Ear barotrauma; [updated 2006 Oct 20; cited 2006 Nov 16]; [about 4 screens]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/001064.htm

Reference

Encyclopedia Britannica Online [Internet]. Academic ed. Chicago: Encyclopedia Britannica Inc.; 2012. Cytology; [cited 2012 Nov 15]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/148932/cytology

 

Drug Guide entry:

 

Format Author AA, Author BB. Title. Place of publication: Publisher; year. Title of article; page number.
Reference Hodgson BB, Kizior RJ. Saunders nursing drug handbook 2013. St Louis: Elsevier Saunders; 2013. Tramadol; p.1169

 

Electronic Drug Guide entry:

 

Format Title of work [Internet]. Place of publication: Publisher/Website; year. Name of drug: [revision/review date; cited YYY Mon DD]; [# of pages/screens]. Available from: URL
Reference

Mims Online [Internet]. St Leonards, NSW: UBM Medica; 2012. Aropax:  [data version 2012 Nov; cited 2012 Nov 15]; [about 1 screen]. Available from: https://www-mimsonline-com-au/Search/AbbrPI.aspx?ModuleName=Product Info&searchKeyword=aropax&PreviousPage=~/Search/QuickSearch.aspx&SearchType=&ID=27600001_2

Reference

AHFS consumer medication Information [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, Inc.; ©2008. Protriptyline; [revised 2007 Aug 1; reviewed 2007 Aug 1; cited 2008 Oct 2]; [about 5 p.]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/meds/a604025.html

 


Patrias K. Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers [Internet]. 2nd ed. Wendling DL, technical editor. Bethesda (MD): National Library of Medicine (US); 2007 [updated 2009 Oct 21; cited 2012 Nov 6]. Available from: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/citingmedicine