Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to cite and reference your sources (Monash University) : Newspapers/Magazines

Thank you to Monash University for generously allowing us to copy their resources

Magazines

Print magazines

Rule for Notes

Follow guidelines for citing journal articles with the following exceptions:

  • cite weekly or monthly magazines by date only, even if they are numbered by volume and issue.
  • do not enclose the date in parantheses.
  • use a comma rather than a colon to separate page numbers from the date.
  • titles of regular coulmns in a magazine are capitalized but not put in quotation marks.

Note number. Author's First and Last Names, "Title of Article," Regular Column, Title of Magazine, Date of   Publication, xx-xx.

Examples of Note

1. Charlotte Sinclair, "Corn Star," Vogue Goes Pop, Vogue, December 2012, 99-100.

Rule for Bibliography

Authors' Last and First Names. "Title of Article." Regular Column. Title of Magazine, Date. No page numbers.

Examples of entry in Bibliography

Sinclair, Charlotte. "Corn Star." Vogue, December 2012.

Online magazines

Rule for Notes

Follow the guidelines for articles in print magazines. In addition, include the URL and the date you accessed the material. Articles in online magazines may not include page numbers, but you may identify the location of a cited passage by adding a descriptive locator (such as a preceding subheading) following the word under before the URL and access date.

Titles of regular coulmns in a magazine are capitalized but not put in quotation marks.

Examples of Note

1. Flanagan, Richard, "Tasmanian Devil: A Master Gambler and His High Stakes Museum," Profiles, New Yorker, January 21, 2013, http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2013/01/21/130121fa_fact_flanagan (accessed February 14, 2013).

Examples of entry in Bibliography

Richard Flanagan. "Tasmanian Devil: A Master Gambler and His High Stakes Museum." Profiles, New Yorker, January 21, 2013, http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2013/01/21/130121fa_fact_flanagan (accessed February 14, 2013).

Print newspaper

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Authors's First and Last Names, "Title of Article," Title of Column, Title of Newspaper, Date.

  • Omit page numbers as newspapers may have several editions in which items may appear on different pages.
  • If it's a regular column add the column title after the article title, capitalized but not in quotation marks.
Examples of Note

1. Robert Nelson, "Tradition Trumps Globalised Culture," The Arts - Visual Arts, The Age, Wednesday January 23 2013.

Rule for Bibliography

Do not cite in Bibliography unless a specific article is critical to your argument or frequently cited.

Online newspaper

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Authors's First and Last Names, "Title of Article," Title of Column, Title of Newspaper, Date, URL (accessed date).

Examples of Note

1. Taken from theage.com

1. Robert Nelson, "Tradition Trumps Globalised Culture," Entertainment, The Age, Wednesday January 23 2013, http://www.theage.com.au/entertainment/art-and-design/tradition-trumps-globalised-culture-20130122-2d520.html (accessed January 24 2013).

2. Taken from Newsbank Database

Robert Nelson, "Tradition Trumps Globalised Culture," Visual Arts, The Age, Wednesday January 23 2013, http://infoweb.newsbank.com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/iw-search/we/InfoWeb?p_product=AUNB&p_theme=aggregated5&p_action=doc&p_docid=143FA90ECA2E8D58&p_docnum=1&p_queryname=1 (accessed January 24 2013).

Rule for Bibliography

Do not cite in Bibliography unless a specific article is critical to your argument or frequently cited.