Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHS Library | How to cite and reference your sources (Monash University)

Websites

Website

Websites are referred to in notes by exact title (where there is one), by the name of the sponsor or author, or by a descriptive phrase. For more information on referencing websites, see Chicago Manual of Style 16th Edition, 14.244-5.

Rule for Notes

Note Number. "Title of Webpage" Name of Website, Date last modified, URL.

Example of Note entry

1. "Clifton Hill Railway Project," ArchitectureAU.com, Posted 13 August, 2012. http://architectureau.com/articles/clifton-hill-railway-project/

Subsequent Note entry

5. ArchitectureAU, "Clifton Hill."

Rule for Bibliography
"Title of webpage." Website name. Last modified date, year. URL.
Example of Bibliography
"Clifton Hill Railway Project," ArchitectureAU.com, Posted 13 August, 2012. http://architectureau.com/articles/clifton-hill-railway-project/

 

Electronic Book (E-book)

E-books are cited exactly as their print counterparts except with the addition of a media marker at the end, e.g. Kindle edition, PDF e-book, Microsoft Reader e-book, Palm e-book etc.

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s). Media marker.

Example of Note entry

1. Andres R. Edwards, Thriving Beyond Sustainability: Pathways to a Resilient Society (Gabriola Island, BC: New Society Publishers, 2010) 34. Kindle eBook.

Subsequent Note entry

5. Edwards, Thriving Beyond Sustainability, 56.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication. Media marker.

Example of Bibliography entry

Edwards, Andres R.Thriving Beyond Sustainability: Pathways to a Resilient Society. Gabriola Island, BC: New Society Publishers, 2010. Kindle eBook

 

Book consulted online

Books consulted online are cited exactly as their print counterparts except with the addition of a URL or DOI. 

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s). DOI or URL.

Note: The first footnote of a particular source includes all publication information, however subsequent footnotes are shortened

Example of Note entry

1. Alexander Meiklejohn, Free speech and its relation to self-government (New York, Harper & Brothers, 1948), 42. http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/UW/UW-idx?type=turn&entity=UW.MeikFreeSp.p0003&id=UW.MeikFreeSp&isize=M

Subsequent Note entry

5. Meiklejohn, Free speech, 44.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication. DOI or URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

Meiklejohn, Alexander. Free speech and its relation to self-government. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1948. http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/UW/UW-idx?type=turn&entity=UW.

 

Blog post


Rule for Notes

Note Number. Title of Blog, “Title of Blog Post,” blog entry by Author, date posted, URL. 

Example of Note entry

1. Harriet, “What must be said,” blog entry by Martin Earl, April 10, 2012, http://www.poetryfoundation.org/harriet/2012/04/what-must-be-said/

Subsequent Note entry

7. Earl, “What must be said”.

Rule for Bibliography

Title of Blog, “Title of Blog Post,” blog entry by Author, date posted. URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

Harriet, “What must be said,” blog entry by Martin Earl, April 10, 2012. http://www.poetryfoundation.org/harriet/2012/04/what-must-be-said/