Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to cite and reference your sources (Monash University) : Books

Thank you to Monash University for generously allowing us to copy their resources

Books

One author

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Note: The first footnote of a particular source includes all publication information, however subsequent footnotes are shortened

Example of Note entry

1. Donald M. McKale, Nazis After Hitler: How Perpetrators of the Holocaust Cheated Justice and Truth (Lanham, Md: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2012), 32.

Subsequent Note entry

5. McKale, Nazis After Hitler, 44.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

McKale, Donald M. Nazis After Hitler : How Perpetrators of the Holocaust Cheated Justice and Truth. Lanham, Md: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2012.

 

Two authors

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author #1's First and Last Names and Author #2's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Astri Suhrke and Howard Adelman, The Path of a Genocide: The Rwanda Crisis From Uganda to Zaire (New Brunswick, N.J.: Transaction Publishers, 1999), 43-45.

Subsequent Note entry

5. Suhrke and Adelman, The Path of a Genocide, 48.

Rule for Bibliography

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, and Author #2's First and Last Names. Title of the Book: Sub-Title of the Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of publication.

(For a book with two or 3 authors, only the first-listed name is inverted in the reference list and bibliography)

Example of Bibliography entry

Suhrke, Astri and Howard Adelman. The Path of a Genocide : The Rwanda Crisis From Uganda to Zaire. New Brunswick, N.J.:  Transaction Publishers, 1999.

Three authors

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author #1's First and Last Names, Author #2's First and Last Names, and Author #3's First and Last Names, Title of Book : Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Israel W. Charny, William S. Parsons and Samuel Totten, Genocide in the Twentieth Century : Critical Essays and Eyewitness Accounts (New York: Garland Pub, 1995), 65.

Subsequent Note entry

3. Charny, Parsons and Totten, Genocide in the Twentieth, 68.

Rule for Bibliography

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, Author #2's First and Last Names, and Author #3's First and Last Names, Title of the Book : Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

(For a book with two or 3 authors, only the first-listed name is inverted in the reference list and bibliography)

Example of Bibliography entry

Charny, Israel W., William S. Parsons and Samuel Totten. Genocide in the Twentieth Century : Critical Essays and Eyewitness Accounts. New York: Garland Pub, 1995.

 

Four authors or more

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author #1's First and Last Names et al., Title of Book : Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Edward O. Laumann et al., The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994), 4. 

Subsequent Note entry

4. Laumann et al., The Social Organization of Sexuality, 5.

Rule for Bibliography

Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, Author #2's First and Last Names, Author #3's First and Last Names and Author #4's First and Last Names, Title of the Book : Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

Laumann, Edward O., John H. Gagnon, Robert T. Michael and Stuart Michaels. The Social Organization of Sexuality: Sexual Practices in the United States. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994.

 

Group/Organisation as author

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Name of Group/Organisation, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. United States Memorial Holocaust Museum, Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto (Boston, Mass.: Little Brown and Company, 1998), 4.

Subsequent Note entry

5. United States Memorial Holocaust Museum, Hidden History, 44.

Rule for Bibliography

Name of Group/Organisation. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

United States Memorial Holocaust Museum. Hidden History of the Kovno Ghetto. Boston, Mass.: Little Brown and Company, 1998.

 

Edited book

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Editor's First and Last Names, ed., Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Margit Misangyi Watts, ed., Technology: Taking the Distance out of Learning (San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2003), 73.

Subsequent Note entry

2. Watts, Technology: Taking the Distance, 112.

Rule for Bibliography

Editor's Last name, First name, ed. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

Watts, Margit Misangyi, ed. Technology: Taking the Distance out of Learning. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2003.

 

Chapter in an edited book

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Chapter Author's First and Last Names, "Chapter Title," in Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, ed. First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Colin Lucas, “Nobles, Bourgeois and the Origins of the French Revolution,” in The French Revolution; Recent Debates and New Controversies, ed. Gary Kates (London: Routledge, 1998), 56.

Subsequent Note entry

4. Lucas, “Nobles, Bourgeois and the Origins,” 60.

Rule for Bibliography

Chapter Author's Last name, First name. "Chapter Title." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, edited by First and Last Names, page number(s). Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

Lucas, Colin. “Nobles, Bourgeois and the Origins of the French Revolution.” In The French Revolution; Recent Debates and New Controversies, edited by Gary Kates, 44-67. London: Routledge, 1998.

 

Entry in a reference book

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, "Entry title" in Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, ed. First and Last Names of each editor (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. John Hirst, "Macquarie, Lachlan," in The Oxford Companion to Australian History, ed. Graeme Davison, John Hirst and Stuart Macintyre (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001), 172.

Subsequent Note entry

3. Hirst, "Macquarie, Lachlan," 172.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. "Entry title." In Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

Hirst, John. "Macquarie, Lachlan." In The Oxford Companion to Australian History, edited by Graeme Davison, John Hirst and Stuart Macintyre, 172. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001.

 

Book with an author and translator

Rule for Notes

The first footnote of a particular source includes all publication information. However subsequent footnotes are shortened.

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book, trans. First and Last Names of translator (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s).

Example of Note entry

1. Gabriel García Márquez, Love in the Time of Cholera, trans. Edith Grossman (London: Cape, 1988), 242–55.

Subsequent Note entry

18. García Márquez, Cholera, 33.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Translated by First and Last Names of translator. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.

Example of Bibliography entry

García Márquez, Gabriel. Love in the Time of Cholera. Translated by Edith Grossman. London: Cape, 1988.

 

Electronic Book (E-book)

E-books are cited exactly as their print counterparts except with the addition of a media marker at the end, e.g. Kindle edition, PDF e-book, Microsoft Reader e-book, Palm e-book etc.

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s). Media marker.

Example of Note entry

1. Andres R. Edwards, Thriving Beyond Sustainability: Pathways to a Resilient Society (Gabriola Island, BC: New Society Publishers, 2010) 34. Kindle eBook.

Subsequent Note entry

5. Edwards, Thriving Beyond Sustainability, 56.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication. Media marker.

Example of Bibliography entry

Edwards, Andres R.Thriving Beyond Sustainability: Pathways to a Resilient Society. Gabriola Island, BC: New Society Publishers, 2010. Kindle eBook

Book consulted online

Books consulted online are cited exactly as their print counterparts except with the addition of a URL or DOI. 

Rule for Notes

Note Number. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page number(s). DOI or URL.

Note: The first footnote of a particular source includes all publication information, however subsequent footnotes are shortened

Example of Note entry

1. Alexander Meiklejohn, Free speech and its relation to self-government (New York, Harper & Brothers, 1948), 42. http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/UW/UW-idx?type=turn&entity=UW.MeikFreeSp.p0003&id=UW.MeikFreeSp&isize=M

Subsequent Note entry

5. Meiklejohn, Free speech, 44.

Rule for Bibliography

Author's Last name, First name. Title of Book: Subtitle of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication. DOI or URL.

Example of Bibliography entry

Meiklejohn, Alexander. Free speech and its relation to self-government. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1948. http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/cgi-bin/UW/UW-idx?type=turn&entity=UW.

Back to top