Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is Turabian?
The Turabian style is a citing and referencing system based on the Chicago style and named after Kate Turabian, from the University of Chicago, who authored a manual to guide students in citing and referencing when writing research papers. The print manual is available from all Monash libraries:
Two forms of Turabian
There are two forms of the Turabian style:
1. Notes (eg footnotes) + Bibliography: used in Fine Arts and commonly referred to as bibliography style. TAD1101 students use this form.
2. Parenthetical citations + Reference list: used in Design disciplines and commonly referred to as reference-list style. The parenthetical citations are often referred to as "author-date" or "in-text" citations.
These styles are essentially the same as those presented in the Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed.
Note: This guide provides examples of form no. 1 (Notes + Bibliography). Refer to the manual for the second form.
General notes for Notes-Bibliography style
- Cited sources are indicated in your text by a superscript number placed at the end of the sentence, and after the full stop, in which you refer to that source. 1
- Full source information (author, title, publication details, page numbers) is given in a correspondingly numbered note at the bottom of the page (footnotes) or in a list at the end of your paper (endnotes).
- Full source details are given the first time a source is noted but abbreviated in subsequent references.
- Use Ibid. (a Latin term meaning "in the same place") for a source repeated directly after the one before.
- Use a shortened form when a source is subsequently repeated (but not consecutively).
- If a source has multiple authors, list all authors (up to 3); for 4 or more authors list the first name followed by et al. (John Smith et. al.)
- Notes may be used for commentary on the cited sources or other substantive information on the text.
- Also list all your sources, at the end of your paper, in a bibliography.
- The bibliography includes every source you cited in a note and may include others you consulted but did not cite.
- Each bibliography entry includes the same information contained in the note but in a slightly different form.
- The bibliography is normally a single list of all sources arranged alphabetically by the last name of the author or editor.
- If a source does not have a named author, list it by the title (ignore articles such as a or the).
- If a source has multiple authors list all names, regardless of how many.
- List the surname first for the first author, but the first names first for the other authors.
- If there are two or more works written by the same author, arrange the works by title (ignore articles such as a or the). For all entries after the first, replace the author's name with a long dash called a 3-em dash.
- The first line of notes are indented like other paragraphs in the text; all following lines are flush left.
- Bibliography entries have a hanging indentation - the first line is flush left and following lines are indented the same space as paragraphs.