Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHS Library | Referencing

Definitions

Your assignment requires a bibliography. What do you do?  Include a list of urls at the bottom of the page? No!
We can help you!

  1. By providing clear guidelines in this guide
  2. We can also help you in person. Make a time with us or just come in and see us
  3. You can contact us via Teams: Ask The Library

First things first: Make sure you understand the terms:

Referencing - the process of giving credit to the original owner(s) of the material you may use in your work.

Citation - the way you tell readers that some material in your work came from another source.

Bibliography - an alphabetical list of the citations.

Acknowledging your sources

When submitting an essay or other piece of academic work, you need to properly acknowledge the material that you have consulted. This allows others who read your work to verify facts or research the same information more easily. Acknowledgment may be in the form of  in text citations, footnotes, endnotes and/or a bibliography. For a simple assignment at MHS, a bibliography is usually enough.

 

Remember to record bibliographic information

At the time of reading an information source, record all of the bibliographic information (descriptive elements) necessary to create a citation. You can either use referencing software or record manually. It is vital to be accurate and clear at this stage to save time verifying these things later on. 

The information you should record:

  • Author(s)/editor(s).
  • Title.
  • Edition (1st, 2nd, reprint ed. revised ed. etc.).
  • Page numbers for direct quotations.
  • Place of publication.
  • Publisher.
  • Date of publication.
  • Web address if online resources and Date Accessed.

If you don't reference your assignment, you might be plagiarising

Plagiarism is the presentation of another person's work, ideas, or creations as your own, without acknowledging where those ideas came from. In other words - you take credit for someone else's work.

In academic writing, this is the same as cheating on an exam.

Specifically, plagiarism is:

  • copying phrases and passages word-for-word without quotation marks and without a reference to the author; this includes but is not limited to books, journals, reports, theses, websites, conference papers and course notes
  • paraphrasing an author's work and presenting it without a reference; this includes but is not limited to sentences, paragraphs, ideas and themes
  • copying any part of another students' work
  • submitting items of assessment that are written in conjunction with other students (without prior permission of the relevant staff member)
  • submitting a piece of work has already been submitted for assessment in another course
  • presenting other people's designs and images as your own work
  • submitting work as your own that someone else has done for you.

If you have used someone else's work without acknowledging your source, you have plagiarised.

How to avoid plagiarism?

How to avoid plagiarism

Plagiarism can sometimes be the result of poor note taking, or paraphrasing without properly citing the reference. You can avoid plagiarism by:

  • citing your references
  • referencing correctly
  • recording direct quotes and paraphrases correctly when note taking.

Quotes

When you use the exact words, ideas or images of another person, you are quoting the author. If you do not use quotation marks around the original author's direct words and cite the reference, you are plagiarising.

Paraphrasing

Paraphrasing is when you take someone else's concepts and put them into your own words without changing the original meaning. Even though you are not using the same words you still need to state where the concepts came from.

Note taking

Poor note taking can lead to plagiarism. You should always take care to:

  • record all reference information correctly
  • use quotation marks exactly as in the original
  • paraphrase correctly
  • clearly distinguish your own ideas from the ideas of other authors and researchers.

Subject guide created by

Guide created by Tania Sheko. Contact me

 

What is the difference between a reference list and a bibliography?

A bibliography is…

a list of all the materials you consulted in your research for your assignment.
 

A reference list is…

a list only of the materials you refer to in your assignment (whether by direct quotation, paraphrase, direct or indirect mention).

Source

A good summary of how to avoid plagiarism by acknowledging your sources from La Trobe University

Paraphrasing, quotation and plagiarism

Take this quiz to see if you understanding what needs a citation

This video starts with a quick plagiarism test

This video is quite entertaining.