Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MHS Library | Modern and historical architects

Historical architects

Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959, USA)

Louis Sullivan (1856-1924, USA)

Alvar Aalto (1898-1976, Finland)

Walter Burley Griffin (1876-1937, USA)

Walter Gropius (1883-1969, Germany. Founder of the Bauhaus School)

Andrea Palladio (1508-1580, Italy & Venice)

Jorn Utzon (Pre 1960 designs) (1918-2008, Denmark. Designed the Sydney Opera House)

Antoni Gaudi (1852-1996, Spain)

Modern architects

Santiago Calatrava (1951- , Spain)

Frank Gehry (1929- , Canada)

Rem Koolhaas (1944- , Netherlands)

Daniel Libeskind (1946- , American-Polish)

Shin Takamatsu (1948- , Japan)

Makoto Sei Watanabe (1952- , Japan)

Zaha Hadid (1950-2016, Iraqui-born British)

Jean Nouvel (1945- , France)

Aga Khan Awards 2016