Library Assistants' ProgramCyber Book ClubCompetition Writing
Biology WindowChemistryCommerceEnglish WindowGeography WindowHistory WindowInformation TechnologyLOTEMathematics WindowMediaMusic WindowPhilosophyPhysical EducationPhysicsPoliticsPsychologyScience WindowTheatre StudiesVisual Arts Window
This is the "Home" page of the "Library Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Home  

Library Homepage
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2012 URL: http://libguides.mhs.vic.edu.au/libraryhome Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Melbourne HS Library A-Z list of Guides

 

Our Global Readership

Melbourne High School Library Guides

21st Century Learning
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 3, 2012
Apps for iPad/iPhone
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 17, 2012
iPad and iPhone apps to enhance teaching and learning
Awesome Things in Art
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Mar 24, 2012
Biology
by Maggie Arundell - Last Updated Mar 29, 2012
Careers
by Dianne Ruffles, Tania Sheko - Last Updated Dec 22, 2011
Resources and links on Careers
Critical Thinking
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 18, 2012
Resources to support critical thinking
Debating
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 19, 2012
Resources to support debating
Digital Citizenship
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 24, 2012
eLearning Tools
by Dianne Ruffles, Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 13, 2012
ICT tools for learning enhancement
English
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 15, 2012
Resources to support the teaching and learning of English
English Language
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
To support VCE English Language
French
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Mar 11, 2012
French language at Melbourne High School
Geography
by Maggie Arundell - Last Updated May 18, 2012
Online resources for Geography
German
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 6, 2012
Resources to support the learning and teaching of the German language.
Google Tools
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 3, 2012
There's more to Google than search
History
by Maggie Arundell, Dianne Ruffles, Richard wakeham - Last Updated May 17, 2012
Information Fluency
by Dianne Ruffles, Maggie Arundell, Marie Buckland, Tania Sheko - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
Researching, notetaking, citation and referencing guidelines
Issues in the news
by Dianne Ruffles - Last Updated Feb 7, 2012
Useful resources related to current issues in the news
Library Home
by Dianne Ruffles, Maggie Arundell, Marie Buckland, Tania Sheko - Last Updated Apr 26, 2012
Library Homepage
LOTE
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
Online resources to support the learning and teaching of languages other than English
Mathematics
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 6, 2012
Murray McKeitch
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Nov 6, 2011
Australian contemporary artist
Museums and Galleries - Architecture
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Apr 17, 2012
Music
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Apr 29, 2012
Resources to support the teaching and learning of Music
Music research
by Dianne Ruffles - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Resources for research in music
Personal Learning Networks
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Nov 2, 2011
Social media to support personal learning networks (PLN)
Readers' Cafe
by Dianne Ruffles, Maggie Arundell, Marie Buckland, Tania Sheko - Last Updated Mar 27, 2012
Read and let the force be with you
Science
by Maggie Arundell, Dianne Ruffles - Last Updated May 18, 2012
Shakespeare
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Resources to support the teaching and appreciation of Shakespeare
Student Wellbeing
by Dianne Ruffles, Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 8, 2012
Resources and links on Student Wellbeing
Study Help
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Feb 14, 2012
Resources to help students with study and study techniques
Tech Tools for Teachers
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Apr 18, 2012
Classroom management tools for teachers
Tim Silver
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
Australian Artist
Transformation - Year 9 Art Unit
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
Visual Arts
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 11, 2012
Online resources supporting the learning and teaching of the Visual Arts
Writing
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated May 17, 2012
This is the online resource page for the Melbourne High School co-curricular group, Competition Writing. These resources are also useful for the teaching and learning of English.
Year 11 Oral Presentation - What do you believe?
by Tania Sheko - Last Updated Oct 11, 2011
Unit of work for yr 11 English based on Graham Greene's The Quiet American

Ask Us

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Welcome to Melbourne HS Library

Library

What can the library do for you?

  • Provide great company and space to learn, share or read with friends
  • Hours - 8.00 am - 4.00 pm

Teacher-librarians are available at the Enquiry Desk to advise on researching and information skills and to offer access to the reserve collection of specialised study guides and texts.

Get help with

  • Information needs for school and co-curricular
  • Finding great books to read
  • Search tips and tricks
  • Database searching
  • Referencing and bibliographic tools
  • Document layout and publishing
  • Recommended readings
  • Printing and Photocopying
  • Web tools

Make the best use of our services by asking for help.

 

Welcome from New Spice

Databases

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Databases for login details
Britannica
With over 73,000 articles, Encyclopedia Britannica Online School Edition is one of the most complete and accurate information sources in the world. It contains both short and book length articles on every subject.
Echo
The newspaper index Echo is available on-line via this link and from the Library folder on the School Network. The Issue Outlines compiled by Echo are also a very useful resource.
Ebsco
EbscoHost - The Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre is an online index of journals and newspapers. A great deal of content is available in full-text. It does provide full-text of The Age, The Australian and the Herald-Sun.
digital_age
delivers an identical replica of The Age. It contains every page, article, photo, table, advertisement, cartoon published in the News, Business and Sport sections. Delivered via a web browser, it can be searched and read in an image or text view. The Age 'True to Print' content is updated monthly. 
EbscoHost - The Australian and New Zealand Points of View is a guide to understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. It can be used as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills.
Issues and controversies
Issues and Controversies Explores hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture.
Bloom's Literary Reference Centre Examines great writers, important works, memorable characters, and influential movements and events in world literature.
McGraw_Hill
McGraw Hill's AccessScience provides fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology. McGraw Hill's AccessScience has on-line articles, research updates, scientific definitions, biographies of scientists, illustrations and graphics, animations and bibliographies, content contributed by 5000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners, the latest news in science and technology and includes a weekly Questions and Answers update.
Cosmos
Cosmos is available both in on-line and print formats and is a premier science journal for secondary students.
Science On-line Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.
EbscoHost - Science Reference Centre is an online database that provides easy access to a multitude of full-text science-oriented content. It contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Groves
This ultimate reference in the world of music is available online from this link: Grove's Music Online
Naxos
For access to a world of online music files, go to this link (5 user licence): Naxos Music Library
Modern World History Online Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history—from the mid-15th century to the present.
Salem_health
Psychology and Mental Health: Online access to this title on Salem Health:
Click on this direct link to Salem Health
Salem_history
Milestones of Modern History: Online access to this title on Salem History: 
Click on this direct link to Salem History 
Salem_science
Encyclopedia of Global Warming:
Online access to this title on Salem Science:
Click on this direct link to Salem Science
ClickView
ClickView Online is a digitised video library available across the School Network and from home. It provides access to approximately 10,000 titles which can be searched by category or keyword. ClickView also enables a movie clip to be exported in a format that can be inserted easily into Powerpoint or Word.

 
 
      
     

    Cookie Monster goes to the library

     

    The Dewey Decimal Rap

     

    Melbourne HS Library blog

    Loading Loading...
     
     View Feed
    blank padding
     

    New Library Resources

    Cover Art
    I am number 4
    ISBN: 9780241953570

    Cover Art
    Science : the definitive visual guide
    ISBN: 9780756689018

     
     

    What can a teacher librarian do for you?

    Poster created by Joyce Valenza. See it in her Flickr photostream here.

     

    Trove - National Library of Australia

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip