Skip to main content

History: Colonisation

Colonial powers

Map of empires as at 1914

North America

Middle and South America Links

An extensive website by Jaime Cóttrill, a student of language and culture at the Universidad Internacional, Mexico. He consulted many experts and professors in his research.

The website of the four-part documentary series for BBC and PBS. Includes an Online Learning Adventure. 

Africa

The Rhodes Colossus: Caricature of Cecil John Rhodes, after he announced plans for a telegraph line and railroad from Cape Town to Cairo, December 1892.

Australia Links

Australian Aboriginal History Timeline is an extensive timeline, beginning with Ancient history and moving right through to the present day. From Creative Spirits website, a personal project of Jens Korff.

European Colonisation

Asia

India

 

(Name, from Wikimedia Commons

Indochina

 image from Wikimedia Commons

 

• The impact of French imperialism on Indochina

• The rise of Vietnamese nationalism and war against the French

• Ho Chi Minh and his role in the growth of Vietnamese nationalism/communism

• The defeat of France and decolonisation in Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam

Territorial Expansion of the United States

Search terms

Handy Hint 

When searching make sure you also use the American spelling of colonization.

Databases

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Databases for login details
Ebsco
EbscoHost - The Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre is an online index of journals and newspapers. A great deal of content is available in full-text. It does provide full-text of The Age, The Australian and the Herald-Sun.
ClickView
ClickView Online is a digitised video library available across the School Network and from home. It provides access to approximately 10,000 titles which can be searched by category or keyword. ClickView also enables a movie clip to be exported in a format that can be inserted easily into Powerpoint or Word.

 
 

On Clickview

Log on to Clickview Online through the Library Online Databases page on the Melbourne High School Portal

Maps

David Rumsey Map Collection

The historical map collection has over 31,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of theWorld, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Wider Reading