Skip to main content

Issues in Science Documentary - Year 10 project: Home

For this assignment you need to:

For this assignment you need to work in groups of 2 to:

  • Examine a current issue in science
  • Find an article about your chosen topic
  • The primary news article must be relevant to the concepts you have studied in science
  • Include information from at least 3 other sources that supports/contradicts the primary news article
  • Create a 6-9 minute video documentary that examines the issues presented in the article
  • Reference using the Harvard reference system

KWHLAQ

The KWHLAQ chart may help you when you're working on this assignment

Evaluating resources

Evaluating resources:

A number of factors must be considered when analysing the resources that you have used, such as:

  • The scientific content - is it accurate or not?
  • The detail provided - is the information discussed in depth or only superficially?
  • The accessibility of the language - is it easy to read and understand?
  • The credibility of the source - can you trust the information given by the source?
  • The bias or impartiality of the source - are both sides of the argument covered equally?

Further considerations in evaluating resources:

Currency

  • Is a year or date of creation displayed on the web page (usually at the bottom of the page)?
  • When was the information last updated?
  • How old is the information on the web page?

Authority - Individual Authors

  • Who has written or contributed to the web page (usually in an About Me link)?
  • What qualifications or professional positions does the writer hold?
  • Are the author's qualifications and experience relevant to the subject being written about?
  • What other publications has the author been involved in?

Authority - Organisations

  • Which organisation has published the web page (Click on the About Us link)?
  • Is it a commercial or non-profit organisation?
  • Is there a political, commercial or other agenda for publishing the material?

Credibility

  • Does the author provide supporting evidence for their claims?
  • Is the author's argument presented in a logical manner?
  • Does the author use neutral language?
  • Is there a bibliography or list of references at the end of the web page?

Search eResources in our databases

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Databases for login details.
Click on the image icon to go to the database.

 

Ebsco Host online journal and newspaper articles including:

  • The AgeThe Australian and The Herald Sun in full text
  • EbscoHost Research databases
  • Australia/New Zealand Points of View 
  • Science Reference Centre
  • Explora Secondary Schools

        

Echo (newspaper index and issue outlines)

Search eResources

Search eResources

Ebsco Host

In Ebsco: Science Reference Centre

Browse by category -> Applied Sciences -> Technology -> Biotechnology

  • Refine your results  eg. Full text, date, source type, subject &/or publication type  
  • Below Publication Date, click Show More
  • Refine your results for reading level by clicking Show More under 'Limit to" : Lexile Reading Level

Or do a keyword search once you're in Biotechnology

In Ebsco: Australia/New Zealand Points of View Reference Centre 

  • Browse by Category eg Ethics
  •  Select a topic
  • Look at Related Information
  • Select one of the options
  • Refine your results
  • Browse by Publications eg New Scientist
  • Search within this publication
  • Add your keywords
  • Refine your results

In Ebsco: Explorer Secondary Schools

  • Select Science and Math
  • Select a category eg. stem cells
  • Refine your search

In Ebsco: Explorer - Australia/New Zealand

  • Select Science and Mathematics
  • Select a category eg Cloning
  • Refine your search

Echo  

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Databases for login details

  • Search Media Issue Outlines for newspaper articles
  • Enter your keyword/s in box and click search‚Äč

Finding books in the library

Finding books in the library

The non-fiction collection is organised by Dewey numbers for subjects and topics.
Broad areas:
Ethics 174.957  Science 573.212  Technology 660.65

You should search for keywords or subjects in the catalogue, but we have also provided help with Dewey numbers according to specific topics:

174.957 (Ethics); 616.079 (Medical Technology); 615.372 (Disease); 571.89 (Cloning); 660.65 (Cloning - Applied Technology); 616.02774 (Embryonic Stem Cell Research); 363.1929 (Consumer Ed.)/ 631.5233 & 636.0821 (Agriculture) - Farming GM crops; 613.262 (Health); Designer babies/Germ line gene therapy: 574.87/616.042 (medical)/ 615.895 (disease)/ 660.65 (technology).

Finding magazines in the library

Finding magazines in the library

Search the library catalogue for Cosmos, Discover, New Scientist and Scientific American 

Please read our license before re-using or sharing

Subject guide created by

Subject guide created by

contact Catherine Morton