Skip to main content

Geography: VCE Geography Unit 2

Online resources for Geography

Changes in Vietnam's Human Environments

Outcome: The student should be able to analyse and explain changes due to human activities in rural and urban environments.

Themes

Select one of the following themes as it relates to Vietnam:

  • Mekong River dams and their impact
  • Land Communications
  • Doi Moi
  • Oil and gas exploration and development
  • Changing Ho Chi Minh City
  • Minority Groups
  • Reforestation
  • Development in the highlands
  • Aquaculture
  • Changes in rural living conditions
  • Changing food production
  • Changing commercial cropping
  • Foreign investment
  • New technology manufacturing
  • Suggest your own theme for approval

Research and prepare a document that addresses the following:

  1. The Nature of Change
  • When did the change occur or is occurring; are these stages evident?
  • Who or what has initiated the change
  • What sort of money, skills and organisations are involved?
  • Where has it occurred or is occurring? (map sequences and/or satellite images are essential here)
  1. Impacts of Change
  • Effects on people, groups; positive and negative
  • Effects on the economy at local, regional and national scale
  • The nature of change; has it varied over time?
  • Effects on the natural environment? How extensive? How serious?
  1. A summary of all nine spatial concepts as they are used in your report                                                                               

MUST HAVES:

At least one map locating change and/or its effects

A series (i.e. at least two) of relevant photographs to show change, suitably annotated.

Bibliography showing some detail of how each source is used in the work

Quick Tips

​Quick tips for searching

  • Use the best keywords for your online searches
  • Refine your searches to get the best possible results
  • Always think about the evaluation criteria - is the information you are using relevant, current, authoritative and reliable?
  • Consider how authoritative your sources are
  • Think about the credibility of the web pages; are they suitable for scholarly purposes?
  • Be critical in your use of websites, and if you use Wikipedia, use it as a starting point only. Check out Wikipedia's reference list for sources

Urbanisation

Urbanisation, dynamics of change and sustainability - presented at a conference by Dr Elissa Sutherland

Websites

CIA World Factbook

Information on the history, people, government, geography, economy, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues for 266 world entities

Nations Online Almanac

Current almanac style coverage of every country and world topics such as language, flags, money, population and cities

Search eResources

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Databases for login details.
Click on the image icon to go to the database.

Ebsco Host - online journal and newspaper articles including The AgeThe Australian and The Herald Sun in full text

EbscoHost Research database:

  • Australia/New Zealand Points of View
  • Science Reference Centre
  • Student Reference Centre

Search eResources

Search eResources

Ebsco Host

To search for articles:

  • Click on Ebsco Host Research Databases
  • Select All databases -> Continue
  • Enter your keywords
  • Refine by selecting Special limiters for Science Reference Centre
  • Refine by selecting Lexile Reading Level
  • Refine by selecting Publication Type

​To search for images:

  • Search under Images 
  • Limit your results by Image Type eg Photos of people, Photos of places, Maps

​Cite your Ebsco Host articles and images 

  • Once you've selected an article, go to Tools -> click Cite
  • Select your Citation Format
  • Click Export to Bibliographic Management Software
  • Select Direct Export to EasyBib
  • Click Save
  • In EasyBib click Import
  • Copy & paste your citation

Facts on File Science Online

  • Select Advanced Search 
  • You can Limit Results by eg Photographs