Skip to main content

Geography: Disasters

Online resources for Geography

Databases

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Portal for login details
 Salem_science
 
Encyclopedia of Global Warming:
Online access to this title on Salem Science: Click on this direct link to Salem Science
 
Ebsco
 
EbscoHost - The Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre is an online index of journals and newspapers. A great deal of content is available in full-text. It does provide full-text of The Age, The Australian and the Herald-Sun.
 
 
ClickView
 
ClickView Online is a digitised video library available across the School Network and from home. It provides access to approximately 10,000 titles which can be searched by category or keyword. ClickView also enables a movie clip to be exported in a format that can be inserted easily into Powerpoint or Word.
 
 
 

Databases

Visit the Melbourne High School Library Portal for login details
 Salem_science
 
Encyclopedia of Global Warming:
Online access to this title on Salem Science: Click on this direct link to Salem Science
 
Ebsco
 
EbscoHost - The Australian and New Zealand Reference Centre is an online index of journals and newspapers. A great deal of content is available in full-text. It does provide full-text of The Age, The Australian and the Herald-Sun.
 
 
ClickView
 
ClickView Online is a digitised video library available across the School Network and from home. It provides access to approximately 10,000 titles which can be searched by category or keyword. ClickView also enables a movie clip to be exported in a format that can be inserted easily into Powerpoint or Word.
 
 
 

Drought

Earthquakes

Virtual Earthquake is an interactive Web-based activity designed to introduce you to the concepts of how an earthquake EPICENTER is located and how the RICHTER MAGNITUDE of an earthquake is determined. TheVirtual Earthquake program is running on a Web Server at California State University at Los Angeles. You can interact with Virtual Earthquake using either a Netscape or Internet Explorer Web Browser running on Macs or PCs.

Man made Disasters

Library Resources

Plate tectonics Apps

 Puzzle Plates

 Folds and faults

Focus on Earthquakes