Drawings by artist
Drawings by Albrecht Durer on Pinterest
Drawing parts of the body (Pinterest collection - Tania Sheko)
Drawing the face (Pinterest collection - Tania Sheko)
Examples of face drawings in different styles (Pinterest)
Drawing examples on Pinterest - Tania Sheko
Common drawing mistakes and suggestions (visual examples)
Drawing portraits (Art Inspired)
Value and tone - shading exercises (Art Inspired)
Composition (Art Inspired)
Positive and negative space (Art Inspired)
Perspective (Art Inspired)
Coloured pencil (Art Inspired)
Figure drawing (Art Inspired)
Pastel techniques (Art Inspired)
Drawing trees and landscapes (collection of examples)
Houses in landscape (collection)
Drawing - examples of art works
Collection of examples of drawings on Pinterest (Tania Sheko)
Drawing - brush, pen and ink (Lyudmila Belova)
Drawing - charcoal, chalk, pencil (Pinterest collection by Lyudmila Belova)
Drawing - pastel (Pinterest collection by Belova)
Drawing studies (Pinterest collection by Belova)
Figure drawing (Pinterest collection by Belova)
Sketchbooks (Pinterest collection)
Brush, pen and ink drawing (Pinterest)
Charcoal, chalk and pencil drawings (Pinterest)
Pastel drawings (Pinterest)
Studies - drawings (Pinterest)
Figure drawings (Pinterest)
Figure drawing (Pinterest)
Figure drawing (Pinterest)
Line, form and colour - drawing examples (Pinterest)
Anatomical drawings (Pinterest)
Drawing in printmaking (Pinterest examples)
Drawings (Pinterest - Elsa Davern)
Drawing (Charcoal, chalk, pencils - on Pinterest)
Drawings and studies (Jill Hewitson on Pinterest)
Drawings (Masters - on Pinterest)
Pastel paintings are graced with an immediate sense of texture and a richness of color that can equally convey a soft delicacy while maintaining a strong presence.
Pastels are comprised of pure pigment and a binder, which results in a sense of immediacy and purity of color in pastel artwork. Pastels are an excellent medium for capturing texture and energy, whether it’s the soft fur of a cat, golden light falling upon haystacks in an amber field, or the movements and costumes of ballet dancers.
What is Pastel?
Pastels are usually in stick form, similar to chalk. A pastel stick consists of pure powdered pigment and an inert binder, such as gum arabic, gum tragacanth, or methyl cellulose. Pastels have a higher pigment concentration than any other artist medium (hence the rich, luminous colors that pastels can achieve). The powdered pigments used in pastels are similar to those found in oil paints.
Pastels can be hard or soft. Soft pastels have more pigment and less binder, so they are easier to smudge and have brighter colors. Hard pastels have less pigment and more binder than soft pastels. Hard pastels can stay relatively sharp, so they are ideal for pastel artwork that requires tight detail.
Read more about pastels on Pigments through the Ages. Information includes blending pastel, outlines and backgrounds, smudging and rubbing, layering colours, identifying main forms, adding details, colour groups, and to fix or not to fix.
The elements of drawing
1. Introduction to the elements of drawing. Stephen Farthing R.A. presents eight practical drawing classes using John Ruskin's teaching collections to explain the basic principles of drawing.
2. The tip of the pencil. Lesson 1. We use line to define spaces and things. It is not a question of magically getting the line right first time, but of first turning a contour into a line, and then systematically correcting that line until it looks right.
3. The edge of the pencil. Lesson 2. We use tone, light, dark and the shades in-between to create illusions of volume and depth.
4. Toned paper. Lesson 3. How toned paper can be used to provide the mid-tone in a drawing, which records where light and shade fall as a means of picturing an object.
5. Making a livelier drawing. Lesson 4. Making a livelier drawing, where the line and tone have an energy because they have been applied at speed with a brush.
6. Measured drawing. Lesson 5. Making a drawing that is dependent for its success on mathematical accuracy.
7. With colour. Lesson 6. The most complex form of drawing. Starting with a pencil outline, the drawing is developed with a brush in clearly defined layers.
8. Field notes. Lesson 7. Strategies for collecting information and recording ideas as an aid to memory.
9. Creativity. Lesson 8. Invention!
(The University of Oxford. Open education).